Orkut users beware!!!

by Kevin
Posted December 29th, 2009 at 9:39 am

We have been noticing that there are several threads created on “Free cellphone recharge” which consists of a javascript that re-directs to a “phishing webpage” (which looks exactly as the login page of Orkut) members are advised not to enter your details in the phishing webpage.

Phishing page looks like this


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing

Another Phishing page caught


Another one caught :D


Do keep checking our community and designersdigest.us for more updates.

http://www.orkut.co.in/Main#CommTopics?cmm=20997129


Related posts:


About the Author | Kevin

Hi all, My name is Kevin Subba, from Darjeeling, INDIA. Founded Designer's Digest with the purpose to share Design Resources for free. Make sure to follow me on Twitter.

Visit Kevin’s Website

If you like this post please do subscribe to our Rss Feed and stay updated with latest updates. You can as well join us on Facebook Fan Page.

16 ResponsesLeave a comment
  • Pavan Somu
    December 29, 2009 at 11:26 am

    It was a type of phishing. People who blindly login will be in trouble of losing their account.
    Pavan Somu´s last blog ..Best 3-Column WordPress Themes My ComLuv Profile

    [Reply]

    Kevin S Reply:

    yes.. mostly girls :)

    [Reply]

  • krish
    December 29, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    @kevin :D

    [Reply]

  • Apinder Singh
    December 29, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Solution: Check the source of the webpage. Here find the URL in action field of the form(which will be *.freehostia.com in most cases). Copy the exact URL and report the phishing attack by filling the form here freehostia.com/abuse.html. They will take down the website in shortest possible time. If you are having some expertise, use it to save others from getting in trouble.

    [Reply]

    krish Reply:

    @Apinder, We have already reported the URL and its already categorized as a phishing page and would warn you(If you are a firefox user) We are doing every bit to get it removed. Keep checking Tech world and annanta for updates

    [Reply]

  • Sandesh Mascarenhas
    December 29, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Even I have had this problem……… :) but I was able to set things rite….. :)

    [Reply]

  • TechChunks
    December 29, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Am I surprised? Guess not! There is no cure for human greed and I wonder when people would realize that “nothing in this world comes for Free”!
    TechChunks´s last blog ..Best “Tips and Tricks” posts in Year 2009 My ComLuv Profile

    [Reply]

  • TechChunks
    December 30, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Where is the LinkWithin Widget? I don’t seem to find it here :(
    TechChunks´s last blog ..Top 10 Tips for Social Network Addicts My ComLuv Profile

    [Reply]

    Kevin S Reply:

    i am able to see it. Please check it again. :)

    [Reply]

  • Apinder Singh
    December 30, 2009 at 11:14 am

    It seems freehostia is more concerned about security of users. They suspend such accounts within 20 minutes(2 accounts already suspended, 3rd will be meeting the same fate soon), while Google hasn’t taken any action against reported blogger accounts.

    [Reply]

    Kevin S Reply:

    yes,, i also reported several phishing to them and they promptly removed it. :)

    [Reply]

    Apinder Singh Reply:

    3rd account took just 2 minutes to be suspended!!!

    [Reply]

  • chandan
    December 30, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I am not so active on orkut. I think orkut has changed their look….

    [Reply]

    Kevin S Reply:

    you should try new orkut. now orkut is better.

    [Reply]

  • steppinout
    December 30, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Thanks God I’m not using orkut :)
    steppinout´s last blog ..15 Free Web Services and Tools To Monitor Your Website Uptime and Downtime My ComLuv Profile

    [Reply]

  • Shiva@Web Magazine`
    December 31, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Well! I do not use social networks at all. Saves me
    Shiva@Web Magazine`´s last blog ..40 Free PLR WordPress Themes My ComLuv Profile

    [Reply]

Add a commentGet a Gravatar

* Name

* Email Address

Website Address

CommentLuv Enabled

You can usethese tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>
Sponsors
Top Web Hosting
Free Stock Photos
Follow Designer’s Digest
Subscribe
Subscribe to our RSS feed and get site updates delivered to your inbox daily.
Sponsors
Magic Members
Wordpress Themes
Organic Themes

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Free Sweepstakes and Contest
Featured links